Fine China was formed in Phoenix in 1997. After a series of well-received singles on Velvet Blue Music, the group's debut full-length When the World Sings was issued by Plastiq Musiq/Tooth and Nail Records in 2000. Produced by Ronnie Martin of Joy Electric, its analog synth-pop evoked the effusive charm of the band's early '80s English pop inspirations, including the Pet Shop Boys, New Order and Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark. The band's 2002 Tooth and Nail follow up You Make Me Hate Music was produced by Jason Martin of cult shoegaze band Starflyer 59 and Terry Taylor of alternative pioneers Daniel Amos. The record's angsty songs (see the album title) moved the band into guitar-driven rock territory, inspired by the Smiths, the Buzzcocks, the Pretenders, the Replacements and the Psychedelic Furs. 

In 2005, Fine China issued The Jaws of Life on Phoenix-based label Common Wall Media. Propelled by chiming songs like "Are You On Drugs?", "Rated-R Movie" and "Don't Frown," the self-produced album was lush and layered, recorded with engineer Bob Hoag at Flying Blanket Recording in downtown Mesa. Withem's lyrics are wry and occasionally biting, given to asides of hesitation and doubt, but ultimately faithful. "I'm sorry for the hatred in my soul," Withem sings with unguarded openness on the haunting slow jam "I'm Sorry For the Hating." The album's post-punk melodic ism and sharp wit have held up; even as a decade's passed, The Jaws of Life sounds fresh and current.

Pressed to vinyl for the first time, the album will feature a handful of new, exclusives remixes from Soda Shop and MyKill & Walker, and new original track from Fine China "Every Nerve Alert" via download card.

Buy it directly from any of these webstores!

President Gator

Velvet Blue

Plastiq Musiq